naturally beautiful

Our MissionView Our Newsletter

Welcome to Lugarno Progress Association


Welcome to the Lugarno Progress Association! We are proud of the history of our beautiful suburb and value the contribution made by LPA members over the many years that the Association has been operating.

We want to keep the Association fresh with new members, new ideas and the enthusiasm and passion that comes with different people working together in community. We have bush walks around the suburb with local historians describing the sites of Aboriginal inhabitation as well as the early settlers oyster farming and timber cutting sites. We get involved in Clean Up Australia Day and National Tree Planting Day to mention just a few opportunities to beautify Lugarno.

Our monthly meetings are held on the first Monday evening of the month unless it happens to be a public holiday when it is held on the second Monday. Look for the banner displayed near the Chivers Hill shopping centre to remind you of the next meeting. We have a variety of guest speakers coming along to keep us informed about various topics. Come along as a visitor or join the Association so you can vote on resolutions. Either way you’ll meet some of the locals.

Please feel free to talk to some of the Committee members about things you’d like to be raised at meetings or to offer whatever skills you have to the running of the Association. There are many things we’d like to do around Lugarno, but we need the expertise of the locals to help!

Download a Membership Application or call into the Pool Shop for a copy.

We Have a Beautiful Suburb

Help keep Lugarno beautiful by joining Lugarno Progress Association and getting involved.


Next LPA meeting

NBN Presentation

Date: Monday 2 November 2020
Time: 7:15 for 7:30pm
Location: Church Hall Anglican Church, 3a Old Forest Road Lugarno


Mr Raj Bajpai, a Community Ambassador - NBN local NSW has been invited to present and answer your questions about the NBN.

Topics to be covered include:

  • What do you need to do to connect?
  • Are there different technologies being used in Lugarno?
  • Who is responsible for the cabling in the street into my house?
  • What happens inside the house?
  • How to make the most of your NBN connection?
  • Update on the latest scams and staying safe online

Those wishing to attend will be required to register prior to the meeting. Registration can be made using the form below, or returning those details to our membership e‑mail address:

November Meeting Registration

Whilst the committee has agreed to activate the Association, this meeting is subject to the Public Health orders. Please familiarise yourself with our Covid Safety Plan.

The management committee reiterates to not attend if you are feeling ill.

LPA News

LUGARNO FLOWERS: Have you noticed some extra flowers around Lugarno, Evatt Park, and the shops? These have been funded by the Lugarno Progress Association and planted by Council (thanks Keith Millar for organising) as part of our campaign to reduce Single ‑ Use Plastics in Lugarno.

LUGARNO HISTORICAL PHOTO - BURGER BAR -Have you checked out the historical photo in the Local Burger Bar? Perhaps you can locate your house or your street from 1970's. Evatt Park looks a bit different too. Thanks to the Burger Bar (next to the Nail shop) in Lugarno for agreeing to hang the beautifully framed picture in the window (on loan from the Lugarno Progress Association as part of its historic project).

The association acknowledges that these projects are supported by Georges River Council.

LPA in the News

You may have seen an article in the Leader that the Lugarno Progress Association has been instrumental in assisting Georges River Council obtain a $20,000 Federal Grant (David Coleman's Office). Council will utilise this Grant in Evatt Park.










Executive for 2019
Minute Secretary:
Michael Spring
Peter Gayton
Kathy Wilson
Ross Simon
Lorraine Williamson

Membership Fees

LPA membership fees fall due in February.
Fees are $15 per year or $30 for three years.

Payment may be made by

Direct Deposit

Account name: Lugarno Progress Association
BSB no: 062234
A/c no: 00800026

Please put a reference on the payment,
e.g.: “J Smith 1 year membership fee”

Download a Membership Application